Today, Wednesday 23 May, sees the launch of a pro-EU, anti-Brexit “Declaration: Scotland for Europe”. Signed by over 40 civil society figures, the Declaration marks the start of a Scottish civil society campaign in favour of staying in the EU.

The “Declaration: Scotland for Europe” reads as follows:

We the undersigned declare that we believe the best future for our community is to remain within the European Union. We oppose the removal of our European citizenship and rights.

“Scotland voted clearly and decisively across the country to remain within the European Union. Nothing in our future relationship with the European Union is inevitable, we can change course and build the society we choose.

“We hereby commit to work with and support people and organisations of all political views and of none to maintain our European Union membership.

The current list of signatories is given below. The Scotland for Europe campaign will ask people across Scotland to sign onto the Declaration. It will also act as a light umbrella or network for all those in Scotland who are or who want to take action to halt Brexit – whether a street stall, events, letters to MPs, petitions, social media action and more, both in Scotland and networking across the UK.

The “Declaration: Scotland for Europe” came out of a discussion amongst a range of like-minded civil society activists. In its start-up phase, the campaign is being coordinated on a voluntary basis by Vanessa Glynn, Chair, European Movement in Scotland (EmiS), Colin Campbell Executive Director, Assist Social Capital and Kirsty Hughes, Director, Scottish Centre on European Relations. EMiS has also received a small grant from Best for Britain towards start-up costs.

Vanessa Glynn said: “Brexit is looking increasingly damaging and out of control. We can and must change our direction – in a democracy, we can always do that. Time is running out, and we call on all those who care about Scotland and Europe to sign our Declaration and join our campaign.

Colin Campbell said: “This is an issue which is going to influence communities across the country for generations. It is therefore imperative that we don’t leave this in the hands of a few, but engage citizens from all walks of life and across the generations to participate in the decision making process of how we manage our relationship with Europe.”

The Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations is one of the signatories. Andrew Burns, Convener SCVO said: “For almost two years, SCVO and our members have grappled with the manifold issues thrown up by the UK’s decision to exit from the European Union.

People in Scotland voted by a sizeable majority to stay in the EU, and all our evidence shows that strength of feeling in the third sector is even greater. We believe that nothing is inevitable about our departure from the EU and consider that now is the time to put the brakes on process which – however it is concluded – would have a negative impact on communities all across Scotland.”

Kirsty Hughes commented: “Brexit is harming our economy, our society and our security. We need to think again; we need to show that through debate and action we can halt this reckless slide to a chaotic Brexit.”

‘Declaration: Scotland for Europe” List of Signatories


Chris Allen, The Round Room

Simon Andrews, CEng FInstP, Executive Director, Fraunhofer UK Research Ltd

Professor Sir Harry Burns, University of Strathclyde

Colin Campbell, Executive Director, Assist Social Capital

Lord Ming Campbell of Pittenweem

Joanna Cherry QC MP, Edinburgh South West

David Clarke, Scottish Irish Finance Initiative

Brian Cox, Actor

Emeritus Professor Sir Tom Devine, University of Edinburgh

Richard Dixon

Sir David Edward

Maria Fletcher, School of Law, University of Glasgow

Gwilym Gibbons, Founder Creative Help Ltd

Dr Alexia Grosjean, University of St Andrews (honorary)

Vanessa Glynn, Chair, European Movement in Scotland

Angus Hardie, Director of Scottish Community Alliance

Patrick Harvie MSP

Pauline Hinchion, Director, Scottish Communities Re: Investment Trust

David Hood, Founder, Edinburgh Institute for Collaborative and Competitive Advantage

Dr Kirsty Hughes, Director, Scottish Centre on European Relations

Juuso Jarviniemi, President, Young European Movement U.K.

Helen Kay MA MSc

Stefan Kay OBE

Patricia Kelly

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Mark Lazarowicz

Dame Mariot Leslie

David Martin MEP

Kevin McDermott

Professor Steven Murdoch, School of History, University of St Andrew

Andrew Ormston, Director, Drew Wylie Projects

Alex Orr

Aidan Pia, Executive Director, Senscot

Susannah Rae, Convenor, Perth 4Europe

Lesley Riddoch, Broadcaster and writer

Anthony Salamone, Research Fellow, Scottish Centre on European Relations

Jane Salmonson

Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations

Professor Jo Shaw, University of Edinburgh

Alyn Smith MEP

Danny Smith

Professor Michael E. Smith, University of Aberdeen

Claire Stevens

Daphne Vlastari